Why Do MTA Subway Drivers Point Out With Their Finger At Each Stop?

3

February 5, 2014 by elainelorent

It’s been more than five months now that I’ve moved in New York City, but one question still can’t stop popping out of my head: Why are train drivers still pointing out of their window at each train station? Have you ever seen that before? Trust me, take a more careful look the next time you commute from your place to work or any other places. In each station, these guys pull their right hand out of the car and show us the sky. Which is absent in the subway. I know, because it’s under the ground. It was just an expression. Come on, please!

Well, I tried to ask when I got the chance to get one stopping right in front of me. The answer was kind of surprising. They actually have to point out at the location sign, which is where the car usually stops. It means that they show that they are firstly paying attention, and secondly that they know where they are on the platform. It is a sort of gesture to acknowledge that they stopped at the right location.

I don’t know what about you, but it was quite comfortable for me to take the train the day after: my driver was paying attention!

If after these two paragraphs you still don’t know what I am talking about, take a quick look at this hilarious video. And even if you knew it, look at it anyway! 😉

3 thoughts on “Why Do MTA Subway Drivers Point Out With Their Finger At Each Stop?

  1. mskuriouskat says:

    LOVED the video!!! I have those same kinds of questions all the time. lol Thanks for the post!

  2. Sophy says:

    Interesting!!

  3. Bouche says:

    Funny….. I love this video

Leave a Reply

